“The Girl in the Portrait” (poem, memory, mother’s perspective, repetition style)

A girl is excited to attend a wedding

She’s all around the place running up and down the stairs

Looking for a shoe and a dress to wear

She is invited to be a flower girl

She was young and innocent

She’s grown up now, I hope she remembers me

She’s invited to be a flower girl

I want to walk with her into the altar

She is grown up now, I hope she remembers me

My daughter, my sweet angel

I want to walk with her into the altar

Someday I will no longer be here to take care of her

She is walking by herself holding a bouquet of flowers

I want to know what’s on her mind, want to ask if she’s happy

Someday I will no longer be here to take care of her

I’m so proud of her because she inspires me

I want to know what’s on her mind, want to ask if she’s happy

She is  a gift from god and she can never be replaced in my heart

I’m so proud of her because she inspires me

A little girl is excited to attend a wedding

Leave a Reply

